The Royal Hotel originally called The Wharfe Hotel was built in 1876 the name change to The Royal Hotel came about in 1903. The current owners Mark and Suzanne have done extensive renovations restoring it back to its former glory and themeing it on an English Style pub. An in house cafe has been built with a huge deck area where patrons can sit and have one of our great coffees, a beer or a wine or a snack or meal. The deck faces the railway station which is directly across the road where the trans alpine arrives daily from Christchurch. The bar has a pool table, juke box, big screen tv and numerous other tvs around the bar to take advantage of different channels. Sports memorabilia adorns the walls of the bar and across the road from the front of the bar is the Grey River, the pub is also the only bar in Greymouth that boasts and open fire which creates a great ambience in the winter. Information is avaliable from the bar regarding activities in the area. Accomodation is avaliable in the form of double ensuite rooms or single and shared rooms with shared facilities.